B1: Nikon D3200 a good entry-level camera

I’ve been looking at DSLR cameras for years now and finally felt like the tasks I was facing in school (and future career) justified the expense. Truth be told, I always thought I would end up with a Canon purely out of familiarity ā€” that is what the university loans to students for their projects. While I surprised myself by purchasing the Nikon D3200, I haven’t regretted it.

Here’s a quick rundown on the technical specifications per Nikon’s website:

  • 24.2 megapixels
  • 1080p HD video capture
  • 4 frames per second
  • $479.95 starting price (I purchased mine in a bundle from Best Buy that came with two lenses and other accessories for more money)

What I have been most impressed with is how easy it is for a beginner to use. The prompts on the screen are clear and helpful, and it even has a “Guide” shooting mode to help the least experienced photographers. I haven’t used the video function much yet, so I can’t critique that, but I have been really pleased with the photos I have taken so far. I think it is a really solid choice for beginning photographers. It’s extremely confidence inspiring to take photos and to have them turn out the way you wanted them to, unlike every iPhone or point-and-shoot photo I have ever taken.

Here are a few photos I have taken ā€” they are completely unedited except for image size for optimum online use:

DSC_0279

 

DSC_0010

Upscale selfies are socially acceptable with a DSLR, right?

Upscale selfies are socially acceptable with a DSLR, right?

Leave a Reply

